Executive Committee

GESAMP is managed through an Executive Committee consisting of a representative of each Sponsoring Organization (i.e. Technical Secretary) and the Chairperson and two Vice-Chairpersons of GESAMP.

The Executive Committee is chaired by an Administrative Secretary who is appointed among the staff of The International Maritime Organization (IMO), which hosts the GESAMP office, responsible for general administration on behalf of all the Sponsoring Organizations. The Administrative Secretary leads the work of the GESAMP office and represents the Sponsoring Organizations as needed.

The primary functions of the Executive Committee are to plan and approve the GESAMP budget and work plan, select members of GESAMP from the Pool of Experts, propose provisional agendas for GESAMP sessions, and adopt terms of reference for its Working Groups.